Tags

, , , , ,

These blueberries in my freezer were mocking me. You see, these particular blueberries were purchased last winter. After the holidays, I thought it would be a great idea to do a cleanse. It was not so great. I lasted less than a day. Of the three different smoothies on the cleanse, only one was drinkable. That one did not have blueberries in it. So there they sit, calling me a failure every time I open the freezer door. What to do with frozen blueberries? Why, make muffins, of course!

Image

You don’t have to use frozen blueberries, but since that’s what I had, that’s what I used. In the summer when blueberries are in season, I’ll use fresh. I’ve added a little lemon zest to the recipe too. Lemons and blueberries go together swimmingly.

Think of the basic muffin batter (before the lemon zest and blueberries have been added) as a blank canvas. You can really add anything you want to it. Raspberries and white chocolate, chocolate chips or cinnamon and walnuts. Use your imagination! This summer when the Ruston peaches come in, I’m going to make peach and crystallized ginger muffins. I can’t wait!

Image

Blueberry Muffins

  • 1 stick of butter (8 Tble), softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer or with a hand mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat well. Add yogurt, milk, lemon zest and vanilla. Blend well. In a separate bowl sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix just until the flour is absorbed. Mixture will be thick, like cookie dough. Fold in blueberries using a wooden spoon (see notes). Butter muffin tin or line with paper liners. Fill each cup 3/4 of the way to the top.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Notes:

  • Do not do what I did! After I added the blueberries, I mixed them using the paddle attachment on my stand mixer. This broke them into pieces and made my batter purplish. I also over-blueberried. I used two cups of blueberries when one to one-and-a-half would have been plenty.

Image

