Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been on a pulled meat kick lately. Pulled pork, BBQ chicken, pork carnitas. You name it, I’ve pulled it. So imagine my surprise when we went to a local rib joint and they had BBQ brisket quesadillas on the menu as an appetizer. I was intrigued. So I got them. They were great! The sweet smoky spice of the BBQ sauce was the perfect accompaniment to the rich creamy cheese. Why had I never thought of this before?

ImageThe first step in making these gooey and cheesy quesadillas is to make the brisket. My friend, Theresa over at Island Vittles found this great southwestern brisket that you cook in the slow cooker. Theresa made a brisket pizza with pico de gallo with hers. After you have your brisket made, strain the liquid into a small saucepan and reduce by half, until slightly thickened. While the sauce was reducing I pulled the brisket, then I added the reduced sauce to the beef.

Image


BBQ Brisket Quesadilla

  • 2 cups pulled brisket with sauce
  • 4 large burrito-sized flour tortillas
  • 2 cups cheese of your choice (I used a smoked gouda and colby-jack combo)
  • 1 Tble olive oil, vegetable oil or any other kind of oil your fond of.

Brush one tortilla at a time with oil on one side. Place tortilla oil side down in a preheated skillet (cast iron if you have it) over medium heat. Spread 1/4 of the cheese over the entire tortilla. Spoon 1/4 of the pulled brisket on one half of the cheese-topped tortilla. When the cheese has melted slightly, using a spatula flip the cheese-only side over onto the brisket side. Paying attention not to let either side burn, flip as necessary until both sides are golden brown and cheese has melted. Repeat with remaining tortillas, cheese and brisket. Serve with pico de gallo, jalapeños, sour cream and guacamole on the side. Enjoy!

Image

