Tags

, , , , , ,

So far this summer I’ve bemoaned my overabundance of basil and thyme. Now it’s rosemary’s turn. I love rosemary. For a while I was using it lots of dishes. From roast to chicken to cake. But lately, I haven’t been using very much, and it shows. I knew I needed to use some, but I wanted to make something different. Enter the shortbread.

ImageThis recipe only calls for 2 teaspoons of chopped rosemary, so it won’t be the solution to my plethora of rosemary. But it’s a start.

Rosemary Parmesan Shortbreads

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened slightly
  • 3 oz parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

In the bowl of a stand mixer, using paddle attachment beat butter until fluffy. In a separate bowl mix together parmesan, flour, salt, rosemary, black pepper, lemon zest and cayenne. Slowly add cheese mixture to the butter a little at a time, until well combined. Turn dough out onto a piece of plastic wrap and roll into a 10-12″ log. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap and chill at least 1 hour. Remove from refrigerator and slice in 1/4″ slices. Place slices on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake in a 375 degree preheated oven for 13-15 minutes or until shortbreads are slightly browned. Cool on a wire rack.

Image

Notes:

  • These shortbreads are savory, NOT sweet. Think of them more of a cracker than a cookie. If you’re looking for a sweeter version, click here.
  • I served ours with a wonderful local goat cheese from the farmer’s market.

Image

