Tags

, , , ,

We were going to a friend’s house for dinner. So naturally, I asked if there was anything I could bring. The answer was a key lime pie. Well, I’ve never actually made a key lime pie, but how hard could it be? First of all, let me tell you there are a bevy of variations of KLP out there. Dozens and dozens. Some are frozen, some have meringues, some are custards. I decided on a mash-up of this recipe from Island Vittles and this recipe from Martha StewartImage

Key Lime Pie

  • 1 1/4 cup graham-cracker crumbs
  • 6 Tble unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 Tble sugar (for crust)
  • 1 14-oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup key lime juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar (for pie)
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar

Heat oven to 375°F. Combine graham-cracker crumbs, butter, 3 tablespoons sugar, and salt in a medium bowl, and mix well. Press into a buttered 8-inch pie plate, and bake 12-15 minutes, until lightly browned. Let cool completely on a wire rack. In a mixing bowl, combine condensed milk, egg yolks, lime juice, lime zest and one-half cup sugar. Pour into the prepared, cooled crust. Lower oven to 325°. Return pie to oven, and bake approximately 15 to 17 minutes, until the center is set but still quivers when the pan is nudged. Remove from oven, and let stand until cool. Refrigerate for 4 hours. Shortly before serving, whip cream with powdered sugar until stiffened. Decorate pie with whipped cream, and serve.

Image

Notes:

  • When Martha says an 8-inch pie pan, she means it. I wasn’t paying attention and used a 12-inch pie pan. I had about a half inch of pie on top of the crust. Hence, the 2 cups of whipped cream on top.
  • I have reduced the baking time of the crust to 12-15 minutes. The original recipe calls for a straight up 15 minutes. I got distracted (hello, Facebook) and burned mine. Pay attention while the crust is baking.
  • If you use the correct size pie pan you won’t need 2 cups of whipped cream to cover up your mistake. One cup of whipping cream with 2-3 tablespoons of powdered sugar should work just fine.
  • I loved the idea of the blackberries in the bottom of the pie. However my host was not so keen on that idea. So I made a blackberry sauce to have on the side. I used this recipe, only I ran it through a sieve to remove the seeds. Also a sort of interesting note, the bag of frozen “blackberries” that I bought consisted of over half raspberries. So really, it was a blackberry/raspberry sauce. It was a weird week in the LWA kitchen!
