Tags

, , , ,

Whew! This has been a very busy time at the Little White Apron household. So many things have been going on that I haven’t had the time to develop my own recipes, but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been cooking. I’ve been taking my inspiration from friends, co-workers and even a magazine or two.

First up in the round-up is homemade Boursin cheese from my friend and fellow blogger, Theresa. Yes, you read that right. Homemade cheese. I made this for a ballet board meeting last week and let me tell you, it’s creamy and delicious, not to mention easy. It’s perfect with crackers or crudité and will wow your guests when you tell them you made the cheese.

Image

Photo courtesy of Island Vittles (http://islandvittles.com/)

Being the foodie that I am, I get a bevy of food magazines each month. Two of my favorites are Bon Appétit and Saveur. I usually cook at least a few recipes out of each magazine per month. As soon as I read the December edition of Saveur I knew I would be making the daube de boeuf á la Gasconne (Gascon-style beef stew). Anything that has brandy and an entire bottle of red wine is fine by me. It was rich and hearty served with a baguette and a salad. This will definitely be part of my wintertime dinner rotation.

Since I’ve begun working retail, at Christmas-time no less, I don’t get home sometimes until late. Therefore a new staple in my kitchen is the slow cooker. I can throw everything in it, turn it on and dinner is ready when I get home. Perfect for busy working families. This time I made the split pea soup with cheddar biscuits from my friend Theresa over at Island Vittles. The soup was ready when I walked in the door and the biscuits only took 15 minutes start to finish. Everything was perfect for a cold, busy night.

Image

Photo courtesy of Island Vittles (http://islandvittles.com/)

One of the great things (and there are many) about working at Red Stick Spice Company is that I get to talk about food all day long. Seriously. All. Day. Long. Customers or co-workers, it doesn’t matter. Food is always on our minds. My co-worker Margaret made this berbere chicken with Ethiopian lentils and had us all intrigued. So of course we all had to make it and boy, am I glad I did. Both my husband and my boss’ husband declared this their favorite meal. Spicy and aromatic, this chicken dish will please the masses. I served mine atop some smoked basmati rice which took it from good to great.

Image

Photo courtesy of Red Stick Spice (http://www.redstickspice.com/)

Did I mention that we’ve been sick? Whatever plague has been making the rounds, we’ve got it. Luckily, it’s not the flu, but it’s just as bad. We’re congested, coughing and feverish. We needed some soup, but I didn’t want any old ordinary chicken soup. No sir. I wanted Thai chicken soup. This soup hit the spot. Served piping hot with a squirt of lime it breaks up the congestion and made it easier to breathe. Breathing is a good thing. The ginger and garlic have anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties the help in the healing process. This soup made us feel better and we’re thankful for it.

Image

Photo credit: Bon Appétit (http://www.bonappetit.com/)

Thank you all for a wonderful 2013 and here’s to a prosperous 2014. Happy new year! Sláinte!
