Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

It’s my birthday! Well, really not MY birthday, but Little White Apron’s birthday. Can you believe it’s been a year since my first post? I’m not sure I can believe it’s been a whole year! But what a wonderful year it’s been. And that calls for a celebration, and a celebration calls for cupcakes!

Image

I really love carrot cake. No, I REALLY LOVE CARROT CAKE. So when I was considering what kind of cupcake to post it was really a no-brianer. Carrot cake reminds me of spring and bunnies and Easter. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t eat it other times of the year. I’d eat carrot cake anytime, anyplace with anyone. I’m also a little particular about my carrot cake. I have rules. No raisins and no coconut. Call me a carrot cake purist if you must. However, if you want to add them, please be my guest. I won’t tell.

The recipe below makes 12 (TWELVE) cupcakes and enough icing for 12 cupcakes. If you need to make the traditional two dozen cupcakes, just double both recipes.

Image

 

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Icing

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp ground mace
  • ½ tsp ground vanilla beans
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1½ cup grated carrots
  • ½ cup walnuts, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 350˚. Line a muffin tin with 12 paper liners. Whisk flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, mace and vanilla beans in a small bowl. In a separate medium bowl, whisk sugar, oil and eggs together. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and mix only until combined. Stir in carrots and walnuts. Divide batter between muffin liners, only filing ¾ (three-fourths) of each. Bake 15-18 minutes until slightly browned and fully cooked. Let cool completely before icing.

Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Icing

  • One (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • ¾ stick (6 Tablespoons) butter, softened
  • ¾ – 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • ¾ tsp ground vanilla beans

Place all ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer and blend until smooth and fluffy. Refrigerate icing 15-20 minutes to allow time to stiffen slightly. Ice cupcakes.

Image

