Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s that time of the year again. No, not Cinco de Mayo, although it is that too. I mean grilling season. This is the perfect time of the year to drag out the grill, spiff it up and start cooking up some delicious meat, seafood, veggies and fruits (yes! Fruits too!).

IMG_2425

I’m using black drum fish here, but you can use whatever fish you can get locally. I’m lucky that I live in South Louisiana and seafood is plentiful. Just make sure whatever fish you use is sustainably farmed or caught. It’s not foolproof, but if I’m buying a fish that isn’t local I get it from Whole Foods. They have policies in place to ensure what they sell is done responsibly. Again, not perfect, but better than some. At least they’re trying.

IMG_2426

In addition to grilling, I have a thing for smoke. I love it. Since my grill is a gas grill, I need to find another source for my smoke fix. Here, I’m getting it from my smoked paprika. I like to use both hot and sweet smoked paprika. I find sometimes the hot is too hot, but the sweet needs a little oomph. So I mix them in equal parts. I also added a little coriander and cumin in this rub since it’s a taco recipe.

IMG_2435

For the tacos:

  • 1 lb. fish of choice (I’m using black drum), blood line cut out
  • 2 T avocado, pecan or other HIGH HEAT OIL
  • 2 T hot smoked paprika
  • 2 T sweet smoked paprika
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp salt
  • Flour or corn tortillas

Prepare grill by heating to high heat for 10-15 minutes. Here’s a good guide for charcoal grilling. While grill is heating up mix together spices and salt in a small bowl. Lay each piece of fish out and dry with a paper towel. Brush each filet lightly with oil. Sprinkle spice rub over both sides of each filet. Let sit at room temperature for 10-15 minutes or until grill is hot. Place filets on the grill and cover. Cook 2-5 minutes depending on the type and size of your fish. Flip each filet and replace cover. Flip only once! Continue cooking just until done. Remove from grill and set aside. Serve with warm flour or corn tortillas and lime jalapeño slaw and chipotle cream.

IMG_2431

For the Lime Jalapeño Slaw and Chipotle Sour Cream

  • ½ head of cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and chopped finely
  • ½ bunch cilantro, chopped finely
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 3 T good quality olive oil
  • 2 T local honey
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1-2 T chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce

In a medium bowl, mix cabbage with carrot, jalapeño and cilantro. In a small bowl combine lime juice, olive oil and honey. Mix well. Taste. Add more lime or honey according to your taste. Pour over cabbage mixture and add salt and pepper. Mix well. Let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes or in the refrigerator for an hour before serving.

Combine sour cream with chipotle in adobo sauce in a small bowl. Let rest in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before serving.

IMG_2444

Looking for something else to serve for Cinco de Mayo? How about these cheese enchiladas? These nachos? These chicken enchiladas? These chicken tacos?

