Tags

, , , , ,

It’s no secret by now that I’m an avid reader. Okay, I’m an obsessed reader. Really, I can’t stop. What I’ve been reading (and rereading) most recently has been a series called Knitting in the City (click here for the first book, Neanderthal Seeks Human) by Penny Reid. Penny writes smart, romantic fiction. These are not bodice rippers. I promise. They’re smart, funny and a blast to read. What does all this have to do with fluffy pancakes, you ask? I’m getting there.

Each book in the Knitting in the City series is about a different girl/couple in the knitting group. The fourth book, Beauty and the Mustacheis about Ashley Winston. Ashley has six bearded brothers who live in Tennessee. The brothers get their own spin-off series, aptly titled The Winston Brothers. The first book is Truth or Beard. This is Duane’s story. See below for an excerpt.IMG_2589What’s Duane’s secret for fluffy pancakes? He separates the eggs and whips the whites until they’re stiff and then folds them into the batter at the end. He’s a smarty guy. Actually, all the Winston boys are smart. Their momma raised them that way.

Duane’s Fluffy Pancakes

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 T sugar
  • 3 T baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 2½ cups buttermilk
  • 4 T butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a larger bowl, mix together egg yolks, buttermilk, butter and vanilla until combined. Using a hand or stand mixer, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Mix egg yolk/buttermilk mixture into the dry ingredients until just combined. Gently fold in egg whites. Cook well in a preheated griddle or cast iron skillet until browned on each side. Serve hot with butter and syrup.

IMG_2612

Penny’s Gluten-Free Blueberry Pancakes

  • 1 cup buttermilk or plain yogurt
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 5 tablespoons coconut oil
  • ½ cup gluten free flour (for this recipe, I usually use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Bread Mix)
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  •  1 cup Blueberries

Mix together buttermilk, egg yolks, oil. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon. Beat egg whites until stiff. Blend buttermilk mix with flour mix; add vanilla and stir until blended; fold in blueberries; fold in egg whites.

Cook on well buttered/greased cast iron skillet.

IMG_2624

An excerpt from Truth or Beard:

“Are you finished?” he asked at length, his eyes on my untouched plate. 

“With the story or with my food” My pancakes had gone cold, but I wasn’t hungry.

“Both.”

“Yes. You can have them.” I passed him my plate and rubbed my hand over my face. I was tired and the thought of eating made me nauseous. But it was more than the exhaustion. Everything, hurt, and not because of my fist fight with Jethro.

Cletus took three bites, making us all wait in suspense, and then asked, “what I want to know is, why didn’t you come to me in the first place? And also, how do you get these to be so darn fluffy? It’s like eating a blueberry flavored could of awesome.”

